Cauliflower and potatoes, with naan

19 March 2010

It’s not that hard to properly cook a steak, no matter what chefs on TV are telling me. If you can’t cook a steak, don’t call yourself a chef, period. I don’t have a problem with the flavor of meat, but when I was still a vegetarian (what happened? I got weak over an Indian chicken curry…) transforming mild tasting vegetables, legumes or grains into something delectable was the thing. Should probably be done on a daily basis. This is delicious.

cauliflower

Cauliflower and potatoes

  • 1/2 cauliflour in mouth-sized pieces
  • 5 medium waxy potatoes, skinned and chopped in mouth-sized pieces
  • 1 onion, sliced thin
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 tsp of cumin
  • 1/2 tsp of turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp of coriander seeds
  • 1 dried bird’s eye chili
  • sea salt, pepper, vegetable oil or ghee, water
Heat 2 tbsp of oil to medium heat and add the onions. Saute for about 8 minutes, then add the ground spices, salt, about 100g of water and the potatoes. Cover and let simmer for 10 minutes, then add the caulifour and cook for another 10-15 minutes. Add a little water if the mixture gets too dry. Season with additional salt and pepper. Serve with naan bread. Recipe follows shortly.

naan

Naan

  • 250g plain flour
  • 50g low-fat-yoghurt
  • 100g milk
  • 1/2 egg, whisked
  • 5g fresh yeast or 1/2 tsp of dried yeast
  • pinch of sugar
  • black onion seeds (‘Nigella’)
Dissolve the yeast in the handwarm yoghurt and milk together with the salt and the pinch of sugar. Let stand for 20 minutes. Add the flour, the half egg and mix to a soft and smooth dough. Let rest for one hour at room temperature.

Put dough on the floured counter, sprinkle with the onion seeds and fold dough in half and shape into a sausage. Divide into four pieces. Let rest for 10 minutes, then roll out each to a thin circle. Bake on a hot baking stone at 250°C for 4-7 minutes or until blistered. Brush with olive oil as it comes out of the oven. Or shallow-fry in a hot pan with a little vegetable oil. A tandoori would come in handy. (Dreamy eye moment?)

naan_close

11 Responses to “Cauliflower and potatoes, with naan”

  1. zeb Says:

    this is not a good time of day to read your blog – it is making me hungry, that’s a very good looking, drool inducing, naan bread there by the way! There is an extraordinarily hot south indian vegetarian take away that has recently opened near me. I can only eat it every so often, I get quite exhausted. He makes some very interesting breads full of spices that look a bit like a bar cake, cut in squares, I have hinted for the recipe but I am going to have to beg I think.

    • theinversecook Says:

      There used to be a website “Death by chili”, which was rather hilarious giving heat ratings to chile peppers from “low” to “nuclear hot”…I’ve yet to find an Indian take-away that really does nuclear hot. The Thai restaurants in the vicinity don’t seem to make anything hotter than a 4 on a scale from 1 to 10 either, and I’m always like ‘give me your best shot’. I’m afraid one day I will eat my words when I’m handed nuclear heat on a plate (or a carrying bag).

  2. Natalie Says:

    Nice vegetarian dish! I want to eat more vegetarian / vegan food recently after making a “steam plain chicken” dish too. The story started from selecting a live chicken from the market and washing it …

    • theinversecook Says:

      I try to keep an eye on meat consumption too; I guess controlling which animal is picked for cooking is the ideal for someone considering himself a responsible meat eater.

  3. zeb Says:

    It’s Thursday tomorrow so what’s for supper? 🙂

    • theinversecook Says:

      It was Vindaloo day yesterday, so today the remaining bits and pieces were re-heated in the microwave together with rice and a little yoghurt sitting next to me in case I’m having a heatwave from the spices.

      You?

    • theinversecook Says:

      Tried to make a basic curry sauce. Shouldn’t be too difficult, I thought. Wrong. Unbalanced flavors and it was a mistake to put habanero in there. It’s too hot now and has a habanero flavor. Time to find alternatives.

      I’m growing basil this summer.

  4. theinversecook Says:

    Wow, still too hot after a night in the fridge. My mouth is on fire.

  5. Zeb Says:

    Are you growing the basil indoors? And more chiles to go with it? I used to grow both when I had a south facing 3rd floor flat. They don’t do so well in the garden. But I am growing garlic again in the raised bed outside. My mind is a blank about what I have been making for supper lately. I think fried rice with vegetables and some chili ginger sauce – and I found some duck breast in the freezer which needed to be used. I rarely make curries, though I do like them but probably not as hot as you!

    • theinversecook Says:

      Planning on placing them outdoors as soon as their growth permits. They’re too small at the moment. Too bad I started to plant chilis late, perhaps a bit too late (middle of March) as the fruits take 70+ days to ripen.

      I love fried rice (and fried noodles). Fried rice makes me want to eat mor fried rice, hard to stop.

Leave a Reply

